My Footprint – Update/ recalculation!!

cropped-14591801_10210872515075059_2974059522689356469_n.jpg
Frodo and Kashmir ~ The Bodyceuticals Farm Alpacas

 

Last time I took the footprint calculator test I received 1.8 earths and this time I am down to 1.4!

 

 

I think part of this has to do with the fact that when I first took the footprint test I said my apartment sources 0% of our energy from renewables when it should actually be 36%.

I do have some fun goal updates though ~

GOALS (update)

  • Support Local:
    • My original plan was to go to the farmers market on Saturdays for local produce but unfortunately I’ve been scheduled to work every Saturday morning since the farmer’s market has opened.
    • However, I have been going to the food bank once a week for food that would otherwise end up in the landfill. Using the food from the food bank for most of my meals has also allow me to spend a little bit more money at the food co-op for local produce.
    • I have also been asking my mom to send care packages with excess fresh produce from her garden
  • Practice zero – minimal waste:
    • I bought a 4 pack of glass straws – one for my purse, backpack, and two for home.
    • I bought silicone baking sheets so I don’t waste single use parchment paper.
    • I stopped shopping at Trader Joe’s – SO MUCH PLASTIC.
    • Use my juicer more often to reduce food waste & stop buying plastic bottles
    • Began making food that I would normally buy
      • sauerkraut
      • nut/ coconut/ oat milk
    • IMG_0310
      • chocolate
      • vegan cheese – made from cauliflower or cashews
      • veggie soup – Saved my veggie scraps from this week to make a veggie scrap soup

         

        • apple butter – made from bruised applesIMG_0298
  • vegan yogurt
  • granola

 

  • Committed to bringing my grocery bags into grocery stores
  • Bought a french press – no more wasting coffee filters
  • Switched to glass Tupperware

 

  • Eat completely vegan 5 days of the week:
    • Before this challenge, the only thing holding me back from being completely vegan other than the occasional non-vegan dessert, was my love for eggs. However, this week I learned how to make vegan scrambled eggs from tofu!
  • Buy eco friendly household and personal care products:
    • So far, I haven’t had the need to buy new products yet so an update for this goal is yet to come.
  • No more disposable coffee cups!
    • I have been keeping my coffee tumbler in my backpack – we also save $1 by bringing a reusable cup to Starbucks 🙂

GOALS (new)

  • Switch to renewable energy with PSE by the end of the day tomorrow (May 8th)
  • Stop using paper towels

All in all, I am very proud of what I have achieved in regards to my footprint reduction. I have been meeting my goals and I do see myself continuing on this path for many years to come. One thing I would like to add to this though ~ I do hold my Amazon Prime account near and dear to my heart, but in order to live more in alignment with my values, I will have to let go of my consumption habit.

Thats all for now,

Thanks 🙂

~Olivia

 

Leave a comment